Workshop Organizers

Prof. Laura Dietz, is an Assistant Professor at University of New Hampshire. Before that she was a research scientist at Mannheim University and University of Massachusetts after graduating from the Max Planck Institute for Informatics. Her research focuses on information retrieval on knowledge-centric information needs. Her scientific contributions span from query expansion with entities to the prediction of influences in citation graphs. She coordinates the TREC Complex Answer Retrieval track.

Chenyan Xiong is a final-year Ph.D. student at the Language Technologies Institute, Carnegie Mellon University. His research focuses on using knowledge graphs and semantics to improve text understanding in search engines. He has published many KG4IR papers in top venues SIGIR, CIKM, ICTIR, and WWW.

Jeff Dalton is Lecturer in Information Retrieval at the University of Glasgow. Previously, he was a Software Engineer Google, where projects included the Google Assistant Natural Language Understanding and the Knowledge Vault efforts on automatic knowledge graph construction. He completed his Ph.D. at the University of Massachusetts Amherst with James Allan in the Center for Intelligent Information Retrieval. His research focuses on the intersection of Information Retrieval and Natural Language Processing. He publishes papers on using knowledge graphs for IR at leading conferences including SIGIR, CIKM, and others.

Edgar Meij is a team lead and senior scientist at Bloomberg. Before this, he was a research scientist at Yahoo Labs and a postdoc at the University of Amsterdam, where he also obtained his Ph.D. He has published 80+ peer-reviewed papers at top international venues such as SIGIR, WSDM, ISWC, and CIKM on all applications and aspects of knowledge graphs, entity linking, and semantic search.

Program Committee

Esraa Ali, Mohammad Aliannejadi, Avishek Anand, Bogdan Arsintescu, Marc Bron, Tongfei Chen, Bhavana Dalvi, Arjen de Vries, John Foley, Ingo Frommholz, Faegheh Hasibi, Xiangnan He, Johannes Hoffart, Ioana Hulpus, Rose Catherine Kanjirathinkal, Alexander Kotov, Huang Lifu, Kwan Hui Lim, Xitong Liu, Bhaskar Mitra, Federico Nanni, Giulio Ermanno Pibiri, Jay Pujara, Pushpendre Rastogi, Hadas Raviv, Achim Rettinger, Benjamin Roth, Pedro Saleiro, Bahareh Sarrafzadeh, Michael Schuhmacher, Yu Su, Camilo Thorne, Salvatore Trani, Suzan Verberne, Nikos Voskarides, Lydia Weiland, Arie Wahyu Wijayanto, Jun Xu, Hai-Tao Yu, Hamed Zamani, Yuan Zhang